Uriah Heep – Into The Wild


With over 40 years in the business Uriah Heep have done more than your average band that scores their deal from the back of a Weeties box, in fact this is the bands 23rd studio album. 23rd?! Are you kidding me? No Sir they are not. What I love about this album is that it’s new and relevant. They pardon the pun ‘Hit the Nail on the Head’ with it, also the 1st track on the album and it doesn’t slow down.

Uriah Heep I guess hit that prog rock tag many years ago. I can hear elements of that on ‘Into the Wild’ both the album and the title track. Veteran guitarist Mick Box is a weapon, his playing is on fire. As the only original member of Uriah Heep since 1969 it’s a treat to know he still enjoys playing and making albums. What I also love about this album is that the keyboards are at the forefront of the songs too. You can never go wrong with keyboards.

This is a really good rock album, vocalist Bernie Shaw who has been with Uriah Heep since 1986 suits these songs perfectly. In particular the big ballad ‘Trail of Diamonds’ which is like an epic piece over 6 minutes long. The album continues with exactly what we’ve had, great rock songs, great musicianship and epic songs. I’ve never been that familiar with the work of Uriah Heep so to be introduced to them in this way over 40 years into their career is awesome.

The final song on the album ‘Kiss of Freedom’ is great for 3 reasons A) its over 6 minutes long 2) it has a massive keyboard solo and D) it fades out!! No songs fade out anymore. That’s just brilliant. Overall I liked this album; it’s just a nice clean rock album. Highly recommended.

Track listing:
1. Nail on the Head
2. I Can See You
3. Into the Wild
4. Money Talk
5. Trail of Diamonds
6. Lost
7. Believe
8. Southern Star
9. I’m Ready
10. T-bird Angel
11. Kiss of Freedom

Essential Information

Musical Style: Classic Prog Rock

Released: Out Now

Label: Frontiers Records / Riot! Entertainment

Website: www.uriah-heep.com

Check it out if you like: Old school epic rock

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Bernie Shaw of Uriah Heep

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.