Music News — April 29, 2016 at 7:13 am

GOJIRA return with new LP ‘Magma’ out June 17


Gojira2016-2Gojira have announced details of their anticipated new LP Magma out June 17. The follow up album to 2012’s widely acclaimedL’enfant Sauvage, Magma is heralded by the new single Stranded, which is accompanied by an official music video directed by Vincent Caldoni. The album is available to pre-order now.

Frontman Joe Duplantier commented, “We are very excited to release our new album Magma. We put everything we had into these songs. This album is our flesh and blood.”

Recorded at the band’s own Silver Cord Studio in Ridgewood, Queens, Magma is produced, mixed and engineered by Gojira. It is the first of Gojira’s albums to be recorded at Silver Cord, their new NYC headquarters which brothers Joe and Mario Duplantier began building out by hand in 2014 as detailed by Rolling StoneMagma is already garnering “Most Anticipated” accolades from the press with Rolling Stone featuring it in their ‘25 Most Anticipated Metal Albums of 2016’ round-up.  Additionally, Decibel Magazine placed the new LP in their ‘Top 20 Anticipated Albums Of 2016’ while Consequence of Sound included it in their ‘20 Most Anticipated Metal Albums of 2016’ preview.

Gojira made a stunning international impact with the release of their 2012 album L’enfant Sauvage, earning the four-piece unanimous critical praise and numerous “Best Of” honors. “…One of the most riveting and challenging metal records of the year. This quartet’s nothing if not an adroit and agile rock band, prone to acrobatic guitar lines and rhythmic shifts capable of inducing whiplash,” stated Pitchfork. Entertainment Weekly placed L’enfant Sauvage  in their “Six Best Metal Albums of the Year” round-up, while SPIN raved“…every nanosecond of (their) proggy death metal is masterfully erected.”


  1. The Shooting Star
  2. Silvera
  3. The Cell
  4. Stranded
  5. Yellow Stone
  6. Magma
  7. Pray
  8. Only Pain
  9. Low Lands
  10. Liberation



Comments are closed.