Music News — November 13, 2014 at 1:23 pm

THE SMASHING PUMPKINS To Release New Album December 12


THE SMASHING PUMPKINS have announced their forthcoming album ‘Monuments To An Elegy’ will be released December 12 via Martha’s Music/BMG Music/Cooking Vinyl Australia.

‘Monuments To An Elegy’ marks the iconic alternative band’s eighth studio album and is the follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2012 album ‘Oceania’. This new album was recorded in Chicago with Smashing Pumpkins guitarist Jeff Schroeder, who has been a stalwart in the band since 2007. Drumming duties on ‘Monuments To An Elegy’ were undertaken by the legendary Tommy Lee of Motley Crue. The album artwork was photographed by Billy Corgan. Two songs from the record have been drip fed in the past few weeks.

LISTEN: ‘One & All’ HERE
LISTEN: ‘Being Beige’ HERE

Produced by Howard Willing (who first worked with the Pumpkins on the famous ‘Adore’ sessions), Corgan and Schroeder, ‘Monuments To An Elegy’ was mixed by David Bottrill and mastered by Howie Weinberg, who did the same honours for Pumpkins classics in the 90’s. ‘Monuments To An Elegy’ is “an album within an album,” part of the Pumpkin’s fascinating work in progress cycle of studio albums titled ‘Teargarden By Kaleidyscope’, following on from the project’s last instalment ‘Day For Night’.

‘Monuments to an Elegy’ track listing:

1. Tiberius
2. Being Beige
3. Anaise!
4. One and All
5. Run2me
6. Drum + Fife
7. Monuments
8. Dorian
9. Anti-Hero

Comments are closed.