Music News — March 25, 2014 at 2:05 pm

In Hearts Wake announce new album ‘Earthwalker’, Carbon Neutral partnership & debut new video


Byron Bay metal / hardcore outfit In Hearts Wake will release their second album,Earthwalker, via UNFD on May 2, 2014.

In an effort to counteract the effect global warming is having on Australia’s natural flora and fauna, In Hearts Wake have joined forces with Carbon Neutral – a carbon solutions provider and bio-diverse reforestation developer that helps organisations and individuals minimise their impact on the environment by measuring, reducing and offsetting greenhouse gas emissions. The ongoing partnership between In Hearts Wake and Carbon Neutral has allowed the band to officially reach Green Supporter status through their efforts in planting native trees in the lead-up to the release of Earthwalker.

Giving back to the community is an important part of the In Hearts Wake ethos. For each copy of Earthwalker pre-ordered via, a bio-diverse native tree will be planted in the hope of restoring and preserving the natural beauty of our environment.

Earthwalker was recorded in late 2013 at Michigan’s Random Awesome Studios with producer Josh Schroeder. The album displays a unique approach to songwriting for the heavy music genre, placing focus on giving each song its own story and motive. The dual vocal attack of Jake Taylor and Kyle Erich is displayed in full force, as both singers showcase their personal ability and teamwork throughout the 11 tracks.

‘Divine’, the anthemic lead single from Earthwalker, premiered on BBC Radio 1 ‘The Rock Show’ on Monday evening to an overwhelmingly positive fan response. The track makes its Australian debut on triple j tonight on The Racket, while the uplifting music video was debuted on Channel [V] Loud.

Check out the video for ‘Divine’ HERE.


Vocalist Jake Taylor, who also wrote, and produced the ‘Divine’ film clip, explains that the song and video identifies the disjuncture between the manmade world as we know it, and the natural world as it is. “Divine is a transformative journey of a displaced individual who breaks through society’s rigid walls by allowing a natural integration with Mother Nature.”

In Hearts Wake are a band with a commitment to the bigger picture, striving to convey a message of environmentalism and conservation through their music and beyond. They released their debut album Divination in 2012, quickly gaining a loyal following. The album and accompanying live performances earned a reputation for explosive precision and a positive message. Divination debuted at #27 on the ARIA Charts, and saw the band perform relentlessly around Australia, as well as a European tour supporting The Amity Affliction, multiple headline tours and a national slot on the Soundwave 2014 lineup. The band was recently announced on the River Sessions 2014 lineup alongside The Amity Affliction, Rüfüs, Dan Sultan and more. In late 2013, they released the single ‘Skydancer’ in a pay-what-you-wish online system where all proceeds were donated to charities supporting indigenous Australians, Americans and Africans.

As the lyrics on ‘Mother’, Earthwalker’s closing track, explain;
“Earthwalkers: you are a part of the Earth and the Earth is a part of you. The blood that courses through your veins is like the sap that courses through the trees. When the Earth in your bones returns to the ground, perhaps then you will remember that this land does not belong to you – it is you who belongs to this land.” 

In Hearts Wake – Earthwalker is out May 2 via UNFD.

In Hearts Wake is:
Jake Taylor – Vocals
Ben Nairne – Guitars
Eaven Dall – Guitars
Kyle Erich – Bass / Vocals
Caleb Burton – Drums


Earthwalker tracklist:
1. Gaia
2. Earthwalker
3. Divine
4. Sacred
5. Gravity
6. Healer
7. Rebirth
8. Afterglow
9. Truenorth
10. Wildflower
11. Mother

Comments are closed.