Music News — March 25, 2013 at 10:56 am

PRIMAL SCREAM set to release ‘More Light’ on May 10th


After debuting new track ‘2013’, Primal Scream return May 10th with one of the year’s most eagerly awaited albums; ‘More Light’, out on the band’s own First International label through Ignition Records / Inertia.

An adventurous, 13-track collection of new songs – and the band’s first LP in five years – ‘More Light’ was written by Bobby Gillespie and Andrew Innes and produced by David Holmes. It features guest appearances from Robert Plant, Kevin Shields, The Pop Group’s Mark Stewart and Jason Faulkner.

Standout tracks include ‘Elimination Blues’ – with vocals from Robert Plant – ‘River of Pain’, the caustic call-to-arms of ‘Culturecide’ – where Mark Stewart guests on the chorus – as well as ‘Invisible City’ and the classic ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK’.

Bobby Gillespie says: “I wanted to convey coming out of a dark time and into a good one… We always knew it wasn’t going to be a straight ahead, balls to the wall, high energy rock ‘n’ roll, two guitars, bass and drum record. It’s sophisticated, layered, cinematic and orchestral; obviously working with Holmes we were hoping to make a record more in keeping with that vision.”

‘More Light’ was recorded at Das Bunker, London and Vox Studios, LA and mixed by Rich Costey at Eldorado Recording Studios in LA, with the album sleeve designed by 2005 Turner Prize nominee Jim Lambie.  It’s the follow-up to 2008’s ‘Beautiful Future’.

Primal Scream are: Bobby Gillespie, Andrew Innes, Martin Duffy, Darrin Mooney, Barrie Cadogan and Simone Butler.

Full tracklisting for ‘More Light’:

01.  ‘2013’  
02.  ‘River of Pain’  
03.  ‘Culturecide’ 
04.  ‘Hit Void’
05. ‘Tenement Kid’ 
06. ‘Invisible City’
07.  ‘Goodbye Johnny’
08. ‘Sideman’
09.  ‘Elimination Blues’
10.  ‘Turn Each Other Inside Out’
11.  ‘Relativity’
12.  ‘Walking With the Beast’
13.  ‘It’s Alright, It’s OK’

More Light is a 70-minute-plus psychedelic trip that takes in a greatest hits of Scream touchstones; krautrock rhythms, soulful gospel rock, bursts of free-jazz, propulsive horns and a sense of revolutionary rage. THE GUARDIAN, UK

Primal Scream’s ‘More Light’ is released on Friday 10th May 2013, via Ignition Records / Inertia

Comments are closed.