Music News — March 29, 2013 at 12:19 pm

City & Colour Announce New Album – The Hurry & The Harm



“…tells a story with a sincerity and fluency that is truly masterful.”— BBC

City and Colour—acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Dallas Green—will release his highly anticipated new album, The Hurry and The Harm, May 31 on Dine Alone Records. Available as a pre-order April 9 on iTunes, the record will also be offered as a deluxe version, which includes three bonus tracks (a new exclusive song, “The Way It Used To Be,” as well as acoustic versions of “Of Space and Time” and “Harder Than Stone”). Deluxe pre-orders will also include an instant download of the track “Thirst.” As a special preview to fans, a sneak peak and free download of “Of Space and Time” is now available here. Additionally, an exclusive in-studio album teaser recently premiered at YouTube.

The Hurry and The Harm is Green’s fourth release as City and Colour and follows 2011’s Little Hell, which received widespread critical and commercial praise. The album debuted at #1 on Canada’s Top 200 Chart, #28 in the U.S., #2 in Australia and top 40 in the U.K. and went on to be certified RIAA Platinum in Canada and RIAA Gold in Australia. Moreover, Spin magazine asserts, “Just as his piercing voice and languid tunes echo Neil Young’s rustic side, a Neil-like tough-mindedness runs through Green’s stark meditations,” while NPR’s World Café praises, “blends folk, country and blues to create a mood designed to commiserate and uplift.”

Recorded at Nashville, Tennessee’s Blackbird Studios during the fall/winter of 2013, the new album was produced once again by Alex Newport (At The Drive-In, Death Cab for Cutie and The Mars Volta). In addition to Green, the album features Jack Lawrence on bass (The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather), Bo Koster on keys (My Morning Jacket), Matt Chamberlain (Pearl Jam, Fiona Apple) and James Gadson (Bill Withers, BB King) on drums and Spencer Cullum (Caitlin Rose) on pedal steel.

Of the new album, Green comments, “I don’t have a lot of faith in myself, so it is hard for me to have a lot of faith in something I have created. But I’ve never been happier or prouder about something that I have done.”

Widely recognized for his live performances, City and Colour has sold out countless shows worldwide, including performances at New York’s Terminal 5, London’s Royal Albert Hall and a three-night stay at Toronto’s Massey Hall. He has also performed at Bonnaroo, Coachella, Sasquatch, Austin City Limits, Lollapalooza, the Newport Folk Festival and Glastonbury Festival. Upcoming shows will feature a brand new touring band including Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs, Dead Weather) on bass, Dante Schwebel (Hacienda, Dan Auerbach) on guitar, Doug MacGregor (Constantines) on drums and Matt Kelly on pedal steel guitar and keys.

The Hurry and The Harm Track Listing: 

01. The Hurry and The Harm
02. Harder Than Stone
03. Of Space and Time
04. The Lonely Life
05. Paradise
06. Commentators
07. Thirst
08. Two Coins
09. Take Care
10. Ladies and Gentlemen
11. The Golden State
12. Death’s Song |

Comments are closed.