Music News — March 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Cold Chisel announce plans for NO PLANS


Cold Chisel announced today that their first new studio album in 14 years will be launched at Bluesfest – where Cold Chisel are headlining on Thursday April 5 – ahead of its official release in stores on Friday April 6 through Warner Music Australia. The album is titled No Plans and features 13 songs drawn from recording sessions across 2010 and 2011. The album features the final recorded performances by drummer Steve Prestwich who passed away in January 2011 and also one of his compositions ‘I Got Things To Do’.

No Plans includes ‘All For You’ and ‘HQ454 Monroe’, two songs that Cold Chisel played on their record-breaking Light The Nitro Tour in 2011 and 11 previously unheard songs. The album will be preceded by the single ‘Everybody’ which will be made available in late March.

“In late 2009 the five of us made plans to record together again and do a tour,” said frontman Jimmy Barnes. “After lots of twists and turns that’s exactly what we’ve ended up doing but due to Steve’s passing those plans changed a lot along the way. The last two years have reminded all of us that sometimes life deals up things you don’t expect. You can’t take anything or anyone for granted. Sometimes it’s best to have no plans.”

In addition, the band has also announced that it will play two very special ‘one night only’ No Plans Album Launch shows to take place at Melbourne’s Festival Hall on Thursday April 12 and Sydney’s Hordern Pavilion on Wednesday April 18. After the huge venues the band played only 6 months ago, these more intimate shows will be a great opportunity for fans to get up close and personal with the band as they debut songs from the new album as well as performing all of their classics. Tickets for these two album launch concerts will go on sale on Monday March 19.

Jimmy Barnes: Vocals
Ian Moss: Guitars / Vocals
Steve Prestwich: Drums / Vocals
Phil Small: Bass / Vocals
Don Walker: Keyboards / Vocals
Charley Drayton: Drums/Vocal

NO PLANS tracklisting

  1. No Plans
  2. Everybody
  3. All For You
  4. HQ454 Monroe                                            Written by Don Walker and Troy Cassar-Daley
  5. Dead And Laid To Rest                             Written by Jimmy Barnes and Guy Davies
  6. Missing A Girl
  7. Too Late                                                       Written by Ian Moss
  8. I Gotta Get Back On The Road
  9. Our Old Flame
  10. This Day
  11. Summer Moon
  12. The Horizon
  13. I Got Things To Do                           Written by Steve Prestwich

All songs by Don Walker except as indicated above

Track 3 Produced by Nash Chambers. Mixed by Kevin Shirley
Track 6 Produced by Cold Chisel. Mixed by Kevin Shirley
Track 13 Produced by Cold Chisel. Mixed by Kevin Shirley


Thursday April 5     Bluesfest, Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm – For ticket details:
Saturday April 7      Perth – Sandalford Estate, Swan Valley
– For ticket details:
Thursday April 12    Melbourne – Festival Hall
– For ticket details:
Wednesday April 18 Sydney – Hordern Pavilion
– For ticket details:

Comments are closed.