Music News — December 23, 2011 at 11:03 am

Frontiers Records update – Crazy Lixx, Eclipse, Jeff Scott Soto, Hardline, Primal Fear…


“Damage Control”, the new album by Jeff Scott Soto, is near completion and promises to deliver a one-two punch in the standard that is expected from the artist who has mastered the world of Melodic and Hard Rock music through the ages! The album is completed with appearances and co-writing by his current and former live line ups as well as guests such as Dave Meniketti (Y&T), Jamie Borger (Talisman/Treat), Casey Grillo (Kamelot) and Joel Hoekstra (Night Ranger). There will be an 11 song single CD release of the album, as well as a 14 song Digipak version along with a bonus DVD which includes videos and EPK. Get ready for Damage Control, it will rock your World!

Crazy Lixx are busy in the studio recording their third album that will be entitled “Riot Avenue”. According to singer Danny Rexon: “This time the music is a little more riff-based and straight-forward. We wanted to make real a hard rock album, so we decided to have a little more raw feeling in the production, sound and songwriting compared to our previous albums and there’s a lot more up-tempo songs than we had on New Religion. Also, the addition of a second guitarrist, Edd Liam, has made it possible to add some twin guitar playing and other interesting musical stuff that we’ve used on the album”. Some of the song titles are “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot”, “Young Blood”, “Riot Avenue”, “Church of Rock”, “Fire it Up”, “Only the Dead Know” and more. The album is planned for a worldwide release in April 2012 and will be followed by the usual string of live dates around the World.

Pride of Lions is carrying on their proud heritage working hard on their as yet untitled fourth studio album. Jim Peterik says: “Our self titled debut released in 2002 is still many of our fans favorite albums. So this album is a bit of a return to form. Of course there will be a few surprises and Toby Hitchcock is singing stronger than ever. I’ve hit a stride on the songwriting with songs such as “Tie Down The Wind” and “Coin of the Realm”. I needed the time since The Roaring of Dreams to regroup and get reinspired. If you can’t make a great record that will last the test of time – why even bother. This time Toby and me wanna take Pride of Lions on the road to promote this new one and spread the word”. This new Pride of Lions from what we’ve heard so far promises to be both more melodic and harder edged. Release is planned for early summer 2012.

Hardline will be back in 2012 with a brand new album and a new lineup which will mark the beginning of a new cooperation between singer Johnny Gioeli and the italian producer/keyboardist Alessandro Delvecchio (EDGE OF FOREVER, EDEN’S CURSE). The US singer says: “I’m really excited to be working with Frontiers on a new Hardline record! We have slated the release for mid 2012…This CD is filled with melody and class…I’m digging it. I hope the Hardline fans enjoy this CD as much as I have enjoyed creating it… Happy Holidays All!”

ECLIPSE are putting their finishing touches to their anticipated fourth studio album that will be entitled “Bleed And Scream”. Musically the band is taking off the new release where the last album finished, yet with more refined and progressed songwriting. It will be a 100% Eclipse-sounding album with big hooks, melodies and powerful riffs but it leans towards a more darker, moody and epic side of the band. Songs like the title-track, “Battlegrounds”, “A Bitter Taste” and “After the End of the World” will show an exciting new side of the songwriting of the band. There will also be the first ballad in the history of the band entitled “About to Break”. Singer Erik Martensson tells: ” This album was the hardest to write for us so far. On the other hand the most rewarding. We don´t know at this point how we are going to top this one. We have tweaked everything from quality of the songs, melodies, hooks, arrangements, guitar-riffs, vocal performances, guitar solos, drumming and the variety in the songwriting in general. No stone is left unturned this time.” Frontiers plans to release the album in the first half of 2012.

Singer Robbie LaBlanc of BLANC FACES and Swedish producer/songwriter Daniel Flores (MIND’S EYE; THE MURDER OF MY SWEET) have started working together on an exciting new project entitled FIND ME. Musically it will have an heavier edge compared to BLANC FACES and Robbie sings louder and stronger than ever ! Daniel Flores says “This cd is some of the best AOR songs I’ve ever worked on, there are songs for everybody here, it is going to be a monster. Robbie has one of the best voices in the business and I’m proud to be working with him, he reminds me of the soulfulness of Martin Page and Lou Gramm’s singing. I have given every song on FIND ME its own identity for Robbie to showcase his great vocal diversity, all arrangements are carefully produced to fit his voice. The sonic impact will knock the socks out of you for sure! There are some great musicians involved on this Cd, starting with the amazing solos from guitar wizard David Sivelind, the rhythm guitars of Daniel Palmqvist and the very tight and inventive bass playing from Jonny Trobro. The amount of time put into keyboards was really a lot and will instantly remind the listener of the greats like Boston and Foreigner. All done with real vintage keyboards to give the album the organic feel, that unfortunately so many albums lack of these days. I have never been this satisfied with the keyboards and synthesizer arrangements like on this album!” Release is planned for the summer 2012.

METAL NATION 2012 Tour including PRIMAL FEAR + Brainstorm + Special Guests!
30. März 2012 CZ – Zlin – Masters of Rock Cafe
01. April 2012 CZ – Prag – Metrix
03. April 2012 AUT – Wien – Szene
04. April 2012 HU – Budapest – Club 202
07. April 2012 BUL – Sofia – tba
08. April 2012 ROM – Bukarest – tba
10. April 2012 D – Berlin – C-Club
11. April 2012 D-Ludwigsburg – Rockfabrik
12. April 2012 NED – Kerkrade – Rock Temple
13. April 2012 D – Burglengenfeld – VA Zentrum
14. April 2012 D – Bochum – Matrix
15. April 2012 BEL – Genk – Rondpunt 26
17. April 2012 CH – Pratteln – Z7
19. April 2012 ES-Gijon – Sala Albeniz
20. April 2012 ES-Pamplona – Sala Totem
21. April 2012 ES-Huesca – Sala Jai Alai
22. April 2012 ES-Madrid – Sala Ritmo y Compas

Two very exciting new bands have joined or are about to join the Frontiers Records roster. One is a new Metal band from the UK which has already gathered a vast critical acclaim with their independently released debut album and that will finally have a worldwide release on Frontiers and another is a new Melodic Rock band from Sweden sounding like an exciting mix of Work of Art and H.E.A.T ! Stay tuned for more news in early 2012 – more and more surprises are in the works !! Merry Christmas and Happy Rocking New Year !!

Comments are closed.