Sister – Hated


 In 25 words or less:  With Sister’s brand of punk fuelled sleaze rock, you will either love them or hate them, what you choose is up to you…

For all you Swedish sleaze rock loving people out there, then Sister are a band you need to get onto pronto, that is, if they haven’t already found you!  With their debut album Hated dropping a few weeks ago, Sister are armed and ready to join the likes of Crashdiet and Hardcore Superstar leading the charge of the Swedish sleaze movement that’s invading ear drums worldwide…including right here in Australia!

Raw, sleazy, loud, heavy and addictive…that’s what you can expect from Sister and Hated.  With Tobias Lindell (Hardcore Superstar, Crashdïet, Europe) mixing the album, it was a given that this album would be a massive sounding bunch of songs, whilst still retaining the punk edged rawness.  There’s a definite mix of the 80’s sounds of bands like W.A.S.P and Motley Crue, then there’s modern day sleaze punk merchants such as The Erotics.

The opening trio of Body Blow, Bullshit & Backstabbing and first single Hated, feature an assault of fist pumping gang vocal chorus’s, some crushing guitar riffs and lyrics and vocals from Jamie spewing forth a “fuck you” attitude.  As Sister state themselves “we do what we want both with our music and in our lives. If you have a problem with it, well that’s your fuckin’ problem.”

Once you get past the opening trio of songs, Sister deliver more of the same…and depending on which side of the Sister fence you sit, then that will either be a good thing, or a bad thing.  My personal favourite couple of tracks, Wherewolves on Blackstreet and Spit on Me will certainly appeal to Wednesday 13 and Murderdolls fans.  The haunting piano and acoustic driven Would You Love a Creature is in stark contrast to the rest of the album, but rest assured the album finishes in slamming style with Too Bad for You and Drag Me to the Grave.

With Sister, you will either love them, or hate them, what you choose is up to you…

Track listing:
1. Radioactive Misery
2. Body Blow
3. Bullshit & Backstabbing
4. Hated
5. Motherfuckers (Like You)
6. Werewolves on Blackstreet
7. Spit on Me
8. The Unlucky Minority
9. Would You Love a Creature
10. Too Bad for You
11. Drag Me to the Grave

Essential Information

Musical Style: Punk Infested Sleaze Rock

Released: Out Now

Label: Metal Blade / Riot! Entertainment


Check it out if you like: Sleaze rock straight from the gutter



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.