Taking Back Sunday – Self Titled


This self titled effort and new release from Taking Back Sunday is their fifth studio album, but what makes it somewhat special is that it sees the reuniting of the bands original line up from their debut 2002 release and it’s evident that it has made an impact on the material on the album.  This is one good album.  The songs have a punch to them, they exude energy and I can see how every one of these songs would be belted out on stage and I’m hoping they make their way down here to Australia soon as I’m already itching to see them live.

They come out all guns blazing with El Paso and they mean business, this is a great opener and welcome back to the band.  The first single from the album Faith (When I Let You Down) is an instant hit with its blaring ‘oh ohs’ and was worthy enough to be included on the new Transformers 3 soundtrack, not a bad effort.  It continues with the catchy Best Places to be a Mom which is a contender for my favourite on the album they haven’t put a foot wrong yet.  Who Are You Anyway? and This Is All Now are another two stand outs both lyrically and musically.  I say stand outs, but it’s hard to really pick a stand out on an album this constant, and that’s a good thing.  I wish more albums sounded like this.

It Doesn’t Feel a Thing Like Falling is epic, and is my contender for the best track on the album, in fact I’m going to listen to that again before I get to the next track.  The album rounds out with a couple  more rockers and closes with another corker Call Me in the Morning which is a big heartfelt rock number that could easily be heard on the radio all over the world, it’s a classic and the perfect way to end an awesome album and welcome return to the original line up.

I didn’t know what to expect from this album as I avoided all snippets and songs until I could actually listen to the album in full and I’m truly glad I have done that as it has just become one of my favourite albums of the year so far.  I recommend that you check this one out, you won’t be disappointed at all, it’s a great rock album.  Sunday is well and truly taken back.

1. El Paso
2. Faith (When I Let You Down)
3. Best Places To Be A Mom
4. Sad Savior
5. Who Are You Anyway?
6. Money (Let It Go)
7. This Is All Now
8. It Doesn’t Feel A Thing Like Falling
9. Since You’re Gone
10. You Got Me
11. Call Me In The Morning

Essential Information

Musical Style: Rock

Released: 24th June (Australia) 28th June (Internationally)

Label: Warner Music Australia

Website: www.takingbacksunday.com

Check it out if you like: Rock



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.