Brian Robertson – Diamonds and Dirt


For former Thin Lizzy and Motörhead guitarist Brian Robertson, recording a solo album was probably the furthest thing from his mind when he thrust a bagful of his unreleased compositions into the hands of his friend Soren Lindberg….  The outcome, yep you guessed it, is this rather enjoyable rock record Diamonds and Dirt.

In recording the album an all star cast was assembled featuring Ian Haughland (Europe) on drums, Nalley Pahlsson (Treat) on bass and Leif Sundin (ex singer of the Michael Schenker Group) on vocals, whilst Riverdogs singer Rob Lamothe makes a guest appearance on a track.  Completing the puzzle was the production team featuring Chris Laney, one of the most sought after producers in hard rock, along with Robertson and Lindberg.  With the quality of the team assembled, it’s no surprise to hear that this from a production and musicianship point of view, this is one high quality release, with the production giving a very polished finish to some of the albums blusier numbers.

So what then of the songs?  The album kicks off with a double shot of Robertson penned numbers, the driving melodic rock of title track Diamonds and Dirt and the infectious Passion with some alluring backing vocals courtesy of Liny Wood and lead guitar work.  The album features versions of the Thin Lizzy tracks It’s Only Money from the Nightlife album and Running Back from Jailbreak.  The faithful rendition of It’s Only Money benefits from a stronger production than the 1974 version, whilst Running Back is featured twice, one an uptempto version, the other slower, both however have a much more blues flavour than the original.  Texas Wind sees Robertson exhibit some of his guitar prowess, a track that may start subdudely but soon transforms into a bluesy hard rock number.

Whilst the prospect of a Brian Robertson solo album may primarily only be of interest to Thin Lizzy fans, anyone with a penchant for bluesy hard rock should definitely check out this collection of solid rock songs.

01: Diamonds And Dirt (Brian Robertson)
02: Passion (Brian Robertson)
03: It’s Only Money (Phil Lynott)
04: Mail Box (Frankie Miller)
05: Running Back (Phil Lynott)
06: Texas Wind (Brian Robertson)
07: Devil In My Soul (Brian Robertson)
08: Do It Till We Drop (Frankie Miller/Jeff Barry/Brian Robertson)
09: Blues Boy (Brian Robertson/Phil Lynott)
10: That’s All! (Brian Robertson)
11: 10 Miles To Go On A 9 Mile Road (Jim White)
12: Running Back (Phil Lynott) (slow version)
13: Ain’t Got No Money (Frankie Miller) (bonus track)

Brian Robertson – All Guitars, Lead & Backing Vocals, Keyboards(Bass Guitar and Percussion on “Ain’t Got No Money) (Ex-THIN LIZZY, Ex-MOTÖRHEAD)
Ian Haugland – Drums and Percussion (Drummer EUROPE)
Nalley Påhlsson – Bass Guitar & Backing Vocals (Bassplayer THERION and TREAT) Leif Sundin – Lead Vocals (Ex-singer of MSG)
Liny Wood – Backing Vocals
Rickard Jakobson – Percussion Chris Antblad – Piano on “Running Back”
Ola Gustafsson – Dobro on “Running Back”(slow version only!)
Rob Lamothe – Lead Vocals on “Ain’t Got No Money” (RIVERDOGS) Ellinor Alm – Backing Vocals on “Ain’t Got No Money”


Essential Information

Musical Style: Bluesy Hard Rock

Released: Out Now

Label: Steamhammer / Riot! Entertainment

Check it out if you like: Thin Lizzy and Bluesy Hard Rock

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.